Saturday Jul, 02 2022 08:14:41 PM

11 NPAs yield to Army in North Cotabato

Mindanao Peace Process • 22:15 PM Fri May 20, 2022
Edwin O. Fernandez
EMPTY PROMISES.  Members of communist rebels who denounced their organization and movement torched NPA flags and pledge allegiance to the Philippine flag after their surrender on Friday, May 20, 2022. (602nd Army brigade photo)

COTABATO CITY – Eleven communist rebels who claimed they were given empty promises by New Peoples Army (NPA) leaders have surrendered to government in North Cotabato Friday.

Colonel Jovencio Gonzales, commander of the Army’s 602nd Infantry Brigade, presented the former communist terrorists to Pigcawayan town Mayor Jean Dino Roquero.

The surrenderees also claimed they belonged to frontline groups of Bayan Muna, Gabriela and United Small Farmers Association of Barangay Midpapan, Pigcawayan.

“We want to live normal lives where we no longer afraid to see or meet government forces anytime and anywhere,” said one of the surrenderees identified only as “Ka Aming. He spoke in the vernacular.

The group also denounced their former groups, set ablaze their movement flags and pledged allegiance to the Philippine flag. They turned over assorted firearms to the military.

Mayor Roquero vowed to help mainstreaming the former rebels as well as facilitate their livelihood assistance from the government.

Colonel Gonzales also urged other rebels to avail of the peace package of Pres. Duterte.

More than 70 red fighters have surrendered to the government under the 6th area of operation since January.

United States, European Union, the United Kingdom, Australia and the Philippines have listed the Communist Party of the Philippines-New Peoples Army (CPP-NPA) as a terrorist organization.

The Anti-Terrorism Council also formally designated the NDF as a terrorist organization on June 23, 2021, citing it as “an integral and separate part” of the CPP-NPA that was created in April 1973. 



Cotelco skeds July 2 power interruption in parts of Kidapawan


Bangsamoro Gov’t honors Duterte for the last time

COTABATO CITY—The six-year stint of Rodrigo Roa Duterte as the 16th President of the Republic of the Philippines has come to an end as he departed...

T'nalak fabric ibibida ng mga kandidata sa Mutya ng South Cotabato 2022

KORONADAL CITY - Handa nang rumampa sa Mutya ng South Cotabato 2022 ang 14 na mga binibini sa lalawigan. Kinabibilangan ang mga ito ng mga pambato...

Oil price rollback next week seen

SANA TULOY-TULOY NA! MAY ROLL BACK SA MGA PRODUKTONG PETROLYO! Medyo makakahinga ng maluwag ang mga motorista dahil sa ipatutupad na roll back...

2 Basilan execs renew support for peace process

2 Basilan execs renew support for peace process   COTABATO CITY – Two peace activists got to the helm of the Lamitan City and Basilan...